top of page

Wine Wednesday: Mathis, 2013 Grenache, Sonoma Valley


As you may know, since the very beginning the girl & the fig has offered an exclusively “Rhône-alone” wine list.

We’ve always loved that featuring unique Rhône wines gives us an opportunity to begin a conversation with our guests, perhaps introduce them to something new, as well as to present talented and innovative producers we believe in.

 

This week: Mathis, 2013 Grenache, Sonoma Valley

About the Founder of Mathis Wine

"I’m Peter Mathis. I made wine at Ravenswood for more than 20 years. Mathis Vineyard, in the hills above Sonoma Valley, is my 'old school' project. Here I cleared the land more than fifteen years ago and planted mostly Grenache, with some Carignane, Petite Sirah and Alicante Bouschet. Grenache is my passion.

Ten years after first introducing my “baby” I added my first Rosé de Grenache in 2012. Three vintages later, the 2015 Rosé de Grenache won Best in Class at the San Francisco Chronicle Wine Competition. I think it's the best I've made!" Source

Tasting Notes:

On the nose black cherry, raspberry jam, pepper and a dash of framboise. On the palate pomegranate and cherry, and has more noticeable pepper and juniper berry.

Pairings:

At the girl & the fig we’d recommend pairing Mathis, 2013 Grenache, Sonoma Valley with grass-fed steak tartare (traditional with raw egg, caperberries, lavender sea salt, toast) , steak frites (6-ounce flat iron steak, frites, roasted garlic & herb butter), sonoma mountain beef burger (grilled onions, house-made pickles, frites) and hard cheeses.

At home enjoy with grilled rib eye with mashers or elk sausage and sauteed onions.

Cheers!

Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • TripAdvisor - Black Circle
  • Yelp - Black Circle
bottom of page